Training for the Marathon

by

Last weekend, I think I had the most perfect run of my life.

Two years ago, I woke up with my middle aged knees and back throbbing and said, ‘What the heck, babying them hasn’t worked, I may as well run them into the ground’, and with that, I vowed to run a half marathon in 2007 and a full one in 2008.  Lo and behold, as I trained (and let me tell you, it was pathetic in the beginning), the knees felt better, the back felt better, and I was clicking off the miles.  In October, 2007 I finished the Albany, NY Hairy Gorilla Half Marathon (I’m not making that up – in this Halloween themed run some of the participants run in gorilla suits and guys with chainsaws and hockey masks chase you along the trail), not realizing it was an OFF-ROAD half until I got there.   A twelve year old boy and and a seventy four year old man beat me, but damned if I didn’t finish it running, hills and rocks and mud and all.

This year I’ve been training hard for the Marine Corps, headphones blaring, listening to CBC Radio 3’s podcast (independent Canadian Music). Last Saturday, I came to my last ‘long’ run before the Marine Corps Marathon, actually just a taper-off of seven miles.  I ran the first mile on a beautiful crisp fall morning with my eleven year old daughter, who set a personal best for that mile, and thought about how great it was that we could do this together.

Of course, after dropping her off at home, I then spent the next two as I often do, watching myself whine and piss and moan about how hard this all is, and how I’ll never be able to run 26, and who am I kidding.  Then the news podcast I was listening to finished and I remembered I had a new CBC Radio 3 and lo, it was “Sweating to the Indies”, their once a year podcast dedicated to the exercise maniacs among their listeners, and as the perfectly beat matched tunes started blasting I felt my pace steady and the energy come back and by the time I was on the stretch leading back to my car I couldn’t keep myself from accelerating, tapering off be damned.  By the time I was done I was flying.  So I don’t know that I’ll be able to finish the Marine Corps Marathon running, but I know I’ll finish it.  And in no small part, I owe that to two years of the Canadian Independent music scene. (Who woulda thunk it?) Thanks guys.

P.S. If anyone would like my personal “Canadian Independent Music’s Greatest Hits” just leave me a note in the comments.

3 Responses to “Training for the Marathon”

  1. Chris Kelly Says:

    YES! Congrats on all your hard work! The people who put together that podcast are really inspired that it’s actually being used for a real workout! May I suggest more Death From Above remixes. They get me the most pumped ever…that and Justice. Yeah!

  2. Cathy Says:

    Hey WolfBrother,
    I need a copy of that alright…anything that motivates that well is a must have.
    Good luck in the marathon, we will be waiting by our phones.

  3. Rahn Says:

    A good run is always refreshing.
    I’m kinda slow sometimes, and when I first read it, I thought it said “sweating to the indians”. But that didn’t make much since.
    Cheers.

Leave a Reply

