Curse you Grant Lawrence!

by

So I’m in Shanghai at the beautiful JW Marriott, 53 stories up in the clouds, looking out at torrential rain left over from a typoon that smacked Taiwan pretty bad and I think to myself, ‘I should work out’, so I change into my still damp workout clothes and head down to the fitness room, and start up the old iPod and click on my normal workout companion, CBC Radio 3. I settle into the rowing machine, 20 minutes, 2:30 pace, no problem. But it’s the 2010 Polaris Music Prize broadcast and this year it’s really good, so I’m getting into it. 15 minutes later I realize sweat is running into my eyes, I’m huffing and puffing, and I’m doing a 2:08 pace. ‘Slow down’ I tell myself and I do but it doesn’t stick. 2:30, 2:20, 2:10 and all because Broken Social Scene, The Sadies and Radio, Radio ( gotta love the way they say that ) are driving me on. So why am I cursing Grant Lawrence? Because as I write this my back is killing me. Rowing is really the full body workout, even on a rowing machine, including something like a power sit-up. You do a power sit-up for twenty minutes and see what your back says to you five hours later.

OK. Maybe it’s not Grant’s fault. Curse you Canadien Independent Music!

Leave a Reply

